Families in Norfolk entitled to free child car seat check ups next month

13 July 2017

Norfolk County Council’s road safety team and crews from Norfolk Fire & Rescue Service are once again taking to the road during the school holidays to host more than a dozen free child car seat checks across the county.

More Norfolk children are killed or seriously injured whilst in a car than they are as a pedestrian or cyclist. 1 in 3 child car seats are incorrectly fitted in Norfolk, but almost all of these can be fixed immediately.  Child car seats are a legal requirement in the UK and make children far less likely to be seriously hurt in a collision, but they must be correctly fitted and adjusted to offer maximum protection, and it is easy to get it wrong.

The events are running until 16 August from 10am until 2pm at the locations listed below.  Families are invited to come along to get their child seats checked and to ask our team of experts about any aspect of road safety.
 
Norfolk County Council’s road safety experts are also using the 18 free child seat safety checks to encourage parents to keep children rear facing in the car for much longer than families traditionally do in this country.

Scandinavian countries routinely keep their children in a rear facing seat until they are four or five years old. Research proves this is five times safer than the UK approach of putting a child in a forward facing seat at around nine months old.

Iain Temperton, Norfolk County Council’s Road Safety Manager, said: “I would urge anybody carrying young people to visit one of our events. It will only take five minutes but that will be time well spent if it improves the safety of the next generation of road users.”

Alistair Steele, Consultant Anaesthetist at Queen Elizabeth Hospital, King's Lynn said: “During my time as an air ambulance doctor and as a trauma doctor at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in King's Lynn I have seen too many children severely injured from car accidents.

"In addition to the messages about driving safely we really want to help parents and carers get the right advice about child safety in cars, and there is a confusing array of restraints and booster systems available.

"The best thing to do is to take advice from a professional car seat fitter to ensure you've not only chosen a safe seat but also that it is installed correctly. Well fitted, rear facing seats in the back of the car are probably your best chance of protecting children in the event of a crash.”

Child seat safety check events are taking place in the following locations from 10am until 2pm:

Mon 24 July

Norwich - Tesco Harford Bridge

Tue 25 July

North Walsham - Sainsbury's

Wed 26 July

Sheringham - Tesco

Thu 27 July

Aylsham - Tesco

Fri 28 July

Stalham- Tesco

Sat 29 July

Holt - Budgens

Mon 31 July

Norwich - Longwater Sainsbury's

Tue 1 Aug

Wymondham - Waitrose

Wed 2 Aug

Thetford - Sainsbury's

Thu 3 Aug

Diss - Morrison's

Fri 4 Aug

Great Yarmouth - Asda

Mon 7 Aug

Dereham - Tesco

Tue 8 Aug

Downham Market - Tesco (2pm-6pm)

Wed 9 Aug

King's Lynn - Sainsbury's

Thu 10 Aug

Fakenham – Tesco

Fri 11 Aug

Swaffham - Tesco

Tue 15 Aug

Norwich - Sprowston Tesco

Wed 16 Aug

Norwich - Hall Road Asda

Press releases