Cookie Consent by PrivacyPolicies.com Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library - Norfolk County Council

Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library

Address: The Forum, Millennium Plain, Norwich NR2 1AW

Email: libraries@norfolk.gov.uk

Map of Norwich showing location of Forum

The Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library is located at the Forum in Norwich.  The Forum is home to several organisations and is a focus for a wide range of learning and cultural activities in the centre of Norwich. It houses learning organisations, cafe, restaurant and takeaway facilities, as well as the state of the art Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library.

Did you know you can renew your library books online? You'll need your library card and PIN.

Opening hours

Main Library

  • Monday - Friday: 8am-10am (Open Library access first floor only)
  • Monday - Friday: 10am-7pm
  • Saturday: 9am-5pm
  • Sunday: 10.30am-4.30pm (Open Library access first floor only)

Express Library

  • Monday - Friday: 10am-7pm
  • Saturday: 9am-7pm
  • Sunday: 10.30am-4.30pm

Children’s Library

  • Monday - Friday: 10am-7pm
  • Saturday: 9am-5pm
  • Sunday: 10.30am-4.30pm

2nd Air Division Memorial Library

  • Monday - Friday: 10am-5pm
  • Saturday: 9am-5pm

Register for our Open Library service for easy extended access to the unstaffed library outside normal opening hours using your library card and PIN.

Computers can be booked online.

Services at Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library

Services at all Norfolk libraries

Events

23 August 2019
10:30 - 11:00

Every Friday 10.30-11am in the Early Years Library, for children aged 3 to 5 years. Sessions are limited to 30 children plus accompanying adults so we advise attendees arrive up to 30 minutes before the session begins to collect an admission sticker.

23 August 2019
14:00 - 15:00

Join local author and UEA screenwriting graduate Owen Nicholls for a talk and Q&A about his debut novel Love, Unscripted. Love, Unscripted is an uplifting love story, following film projectionist Nick as he tries to understand the difference between love on the silver screen and love in real life. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby and Laura Barnett. There will be a Q & A, an opportunity to meet the author, and purchase a copy of what looks set to be one of biggest romantic debuts of the year. This event will be taking place on the ground floor at the Millennium Library at 2pm. Free of charge but please book a place www.norwichmillenniumlibrary.eventbrite.co.uk.

27 August 2019
10:30 - 12:30

A Drop in colouring session for adults. Switch off your worries and immerse yourself in colouring. We hope you will leave feeling relaxed, calm and ready to face the world. All materials are provided and no need to book

27 August 2019
14:00 - 14:30

Every Tuesday 2-2.30pm for children aged 0-15 months. Sessions are limited to 30 children plus accompanying adults so we advise attendees arrive up to 30 minutes before the session begins to collect an admission sticker.

27 August 2019
14:15 - 16:15

Board Games Afternoon Relax, make new friends and enjoy a game such as Scrabble, Chess, Draughts, Monopoly, cards and other favourites at our free drop-in Board Games afternoons. Held on the first floor of the Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library, The Forum from 2.15 - 4.15 on every Tuesday. Everyone is welcome For more information, please ask in the library, or telephone 01603 774730

27 August 2019
14:15 - 15:15

Our Friendly IT support volunteers can support you to access services online, fill in forms and find information. To book a session please speak to a member of staff or phone 01603 774730

28 August 2019
11:00 - 13:00

Pop into the library for a cuppa and some company. Refreshments will be available on the ground floor of the library in our reading corner. Friendly volunteers will serve you a drink while you enjoy spending time in our lovely library (Free Event)

28 August 2019
13:30 - 15:00


28 August 2019
10:30 - 12:00

Come along to the Children's Library for a Space Chase-themed storytime and some simple rocket craft activities! No need to book, just come along on the day. Suitable for families, though under 8s must be supervised by an adult.

29 August 2019
17:00 - 18:30

Join us for a space themed slime session to celebrate the Summer Reading Challenge! We will be making slimy moon slime, astronaut poop, and alien eye slime- YUCK! This session is suitable for children aged 8-14 and costs £5 per child which must be paid in advance of the session. Places are limited so to book a place, please email millennium.lib@norfolk.gov.uk.

29 August 2019
19:00 - 20:30

The author of Schindler's Ark Join us on the ground floor of the Norfolk & Norwich Millennium Library for a screening of this fascinating talk, being broadcast live from the British Library in London. Book your free ticket now! On a rare visit to Britain Thomas Keneally, author of the Booker Prize-winning Schindler's Arktalks about his new work The Book Of Science & Antiquities, a bold, millennia-spanning novel about what it means to be human. Thomas Keneally began his writing career in 1964 and has published thirty novels since. They include Schindler's Ark, which won the Booker Prize in 1982 and was subsequently made into the film Schindler's List, and The Chant Of Jimmie Blacksmith, Confederates and Gossip From The Forest, each of which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. His most recent novels are The Daughters Of Mars, which was shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize in 2013, Shame And The Captives and Napoleon's Last Island. He has also written several works of non-fiction, including his memoir Homebush Boy, Searching For Schindler and Australians. He is married with two daughters and lives in Sydney. Tickets are free but booking is essential. To book please visit: www.norwichmillenniumlibrary.eventbrite.co.uk

29 August 2019
10:30 - 11:00

Every Thursday 10.30-11am in the Early Years Library, for children aged 15 months to 3 years. Sessions are limited to 30 children plus accompanying adults so we advise attendees arrive up to 30 minutes before the session begins to collect an admission sticker.

29 August 2019
14:00 - 16:00

Come along to this friendly group to share ideas and swap tips on knitting and other needlework crafts. Bring along your own project to work on or take a look through the large collection of craft books in the library. New members welcome to this drop in group. Free & no need to book. If you have a question about this group please contact Caroline 01603 774781 This group meets at the first floor tables

29 August 2019
11:00 - 13:00

Free, rapid HIV testing available on Thursdays 11 - 1 at The Millennium Library (appointment only). Have a chat with trained Terrence Higgins Trust staff in a private room, take your free test and see your results in 60 seconds. To book an HIV fastest appointment contact Terrence Higgins Trust Norfolk Tel 01603 226666 norfolksexualhealth@tht.org.uk

29 August 2019
17:30 - 18:30

Relax and Unwind during a session of yoga with teacher Barley Green in our private 2nd floor room. Suitable for all abilities as Barley will tailor moves to your needs. You can buy 4 class passes for £20 or pay £6.50 on the day. Please contact Barley to book your space on the mat. Yoga mats and blocks available for use yogabarley@gmail.com 07834485783 www.barleyyoga.co.uk

29 August 2019
14:15 - 15:15

Free, bookable Internet Support with volunteers. Great if you need some help accessing services online, emailing, searching the Internet or filling in online forms. Sessions can be booked by speaking to a member of staff or by phoning 01603 774730

30 August 2019
10:30 - 11:00

Every Friday 10.30-11am in the Early Years Library, for children aged 3 to 5 years. Sessions are limited to 30 children plus accompanying adults so we advise attendees arrive up to 30 minutes before the session begins to collect an admission sticker.

03 September 2019
14:00 - 14:30

Every Tuesday 2-2.30pm for children aged 0-15 months. Sessions are limited to 30 children plus accompanying adults so we advise attendees arrive up to 30 minutes before the session begins to collect an admission sticker.

03 September 2019
10:30 - 12:30

A Drop in colouring session for adults. Switch off your worries and immerse yourself in colouring. We hope you will leave feeling relaxed, calm and ready to face the world. All materials are provided and no need to book

03 September 2019
14:15 - 15:15

Our Friendly IT support volunteers can support you to access services online, fill in forms and find information. To book a session please speak to a member of staff or phone 01603 774730

03 September 2019
14:15 - 16:15

Board Games Afternoon Relax, make new friends and enjoy a game such as Scrabble, Chess, Draughts, Monopoly, cards and other favourites at our free drop-in Board Games afternoons. Held on the first floor of the Norfolk and Norwich Millennium Library, The Forum from 2.15 - 4.15 on every Tuesday. Everyone is welcome For more information, please ask in the library, or telephone 01603 774730

04 September 2019
14:30 - 16:30


04 September 2019
11:00 - 13:00

Pop into the library for a cuppa and some company. Refreshments will be available on the ground floor of the library in our reading corner. Friendly volunteers will serve you a drink while you enjoy spending time in our lovely library (Free Event)

04 September 2019
13:30 - 15:00


05 September 2019
10:30 - 11:00

Every Thursday 10.30-11am in the Early Years Library, for children aged 15 months to 3 years. Sessions are limited to 30 children plus accompanying adults so we advise attendees arrive up to 30 minutes before the session begins to collect an admission sticker.

05 September 2019
17:30 - 18:30

Relax and Unwind during a session of yoga with teacher Barley Green in our private 2nd floor room. Suitable for all abilities as Barley will tailor moves to your needs. You can buy 4 class passes for £20 or pay £6.50 on the day. Please contact Barley to book your space on the mat. Yoga mats and blocks available for use yogabarley@gmail.com 07834485783 www.barleyyoga.co.uk

05 September 2019
14:15 - 15:15

Free, bookable Internet Support with volunteers. Great if you need some help accessing services online, emailing, searching the Internet or filling in online forms. Sessions can be booked by speaking to a member of staff or by phoning 01603 774730

05 September 2019
11:00 - 13:00

Free, rapid HIV testing available on Thursdays 11 - 1 at The Millennium Library (appointment only). Have a chat with trained Terrence Higgins Trust staff in a private room, take your free test and see your results in 60 seconds. To book an HIV fastest appointment contact Terrence Higgins Trust Norfolk Tel 01603 226666 norfolksexualhealth@tht.org.uk

05 September 2019
14:00 - 16:00

Come along to this friendly group to share ideas and swap tips on knitting and other needlework crafts. Bring along your own project to work on or take a look through the large collection of craft books in the library. New members welcome to this drop in group. Free & no need to book. If you have a question about this group please contact Caroline 01603 774781 This group meets at the first floor tables

Was this webpage helpful?