Toggle mobile menu visibility

Local councils

Within the borders of Norfolk there is a hierarchy of county, district and parish councils.

Within this three-tier structure there is some duplication and overlap of responsibilities between the different levels.

Three tier structure


At Norfolk County Council we provide the strategic and more costly services like social services, trading standards, fire and rescue, transport and education.



Norfolk is then sub-divided into seven district, borough and city councils:

  • Breckland
  • Broadland
  • Great Yarmouth
  • King's Lynn and West Norfolk
  • North Norfolk
  • Norwich
  • South Norfolk

Their individual contact details are below. To find your local council, visit Where I Live and enter your postcode. 

The district, borough and city councils are each responsible within their districts for:

  • Council tax collection
  • Housing
  • Refuse collection
  • Street cleaning
  • Economic development
  • Environmental Health
  • Leisure facilities



The districts are further divided up into parish or town councils, each with their own elected councils.

All the powers of a parish council are shared with a district council. Parishes deal with local services and problems at a very practical, detailed level.

Visit the Norfolk Association of Local Councils (NALC) (opens new window)website for more information about parish and town councils.


District, borough and city council contact details

To find your local council, enter your postcode on our map.

Breckland District Council

Elizabeth House, Walpole Loke, Dereham, Norfolk, NR19 1EE

Telephone: 01362 656870

Fax: 01362 692582


Online contact form for Breckland District Council

Broadland District Council

The Horizon Centre, Broadland Business Park, Peachman Way, Norwich NR7 0WF 

Telephone: 01603 431133

Fax: 01603 300087



Great Yarmouth Borough Council

Town Hall, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, NR30 2QF

Telephone: 01493 856100

Freephone: 0808 196 2236

Fax: 01493 846359



King's Lynn & West Norfolk Borough Council

King's Court, Chapel Street, King's Lynn, Norfolk, PE30 1EX

Telephone: 01553 616200

Fax: 01553 691663


Online contact form for King's Lynn & West Norfolk Borough Council

North Norfolk District Council

Holt Road, Cromer, Norfolk, NR27 9EN

Telephone: 01263 513811

Fax: 01263 515042


Online contact: Online contact form for North Norfolk District Council

Norwich City Council

City Hall, Norwich, NR2 1NH

Telephone: 0344 980 3333

Fax: 01603 213000


Online contact form for Norwich City Council

South Norfolk District Council

The Horizon Centre, Broadland Business Park, Peachman Way, Norwich NR7 0WF 

Telephone: 01508 533701

Fax: 01508 533695



Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon