Toggle mobile menu visibility

Care Act assessment

Who is eligible for help

There are three criteria we will use during an assessment to see if you are eligible for help. These criteria are set nationally.

The three criteria we assess you against are:

Whether you have an impairment or illness

We look at whether you have a physical or mental impairment or illness.

This includes:

  • Physical illness or disability
  • Mental health problems
  • Sensory impairment
  • Learning disability
  • Cognitive disability or illness
  • Brain injury
  • Frailty and impairments from substance misuse

You don't need a formal diagnosis. But we might ask people like your doctor for their views.

If you're unable to do certain things

We'll see if your illness or impairment means you can't do certain things that are important to you.

We are looking for evidence that you can't do at least two of these things without the help of others:

  • Preparing and eating a meal
  • Getting yourself washed
  • Going to the toilet
  • Getting yourself dressed
  • Being safe in your home
  • Keeping your home clean and tidy and in a good state of repair
  • Having relationships with family and friends
  • Accessing and engaging in work, training, education or volunteering
  • Making use of facilities in your local community - like your library
  • Looking after a child

Whether there is an impact on your wellbeing

We will ask you about your wellbeing. For example, is it affected by not being able to do the things that are important to you. We want to know if this is having a significant impact on your wellbeing.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon Email icon


Print icon